2009 Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series winner predictions

The 61st Emmy Awards will be held on September 20, 2009, at the Nokia theatre in Los Angeles, and will be aired live on CBS at 8 PM.UPDATE: Once again Mad Men has won the 2009 Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series.

Who is going to be the winner of the 2009 Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series?

Most predictions go with Mad Men, winner of the 2008 Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series, for a repeat win.

Lost and Breaking Bad are contenders as well.

Here is a list of the TV dramas that have been nominated for the 2009 Emmy Awards for Outstanding Drama Series:

1.   Mad Men, AMC, produced by Lionsgate Television

Photo: Mad Men logo

Photo: Mad Men TV series 2008 Emmy award for Outstanding Drama Series winner

Matthew Weiner, Executive Producer
Scott Hornbacher, Co-Executive Producer
AndrÇ Jacquemetton, Supervising Producer
Maria Jacquemetton, Supervising Producer
Lisa Albert, Supervising Producer

Mad Men, that premiered in 2007, is now in its third season. Starring Jon Hamm, Elisabeth Moss, Vincent Kartheiser, January Jones, Christina Hendricks, Bryan Batt, and John Slattery. The TV series won the 2008 Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series and the Golden Globe Award for Best Television Series – Drama in the same year.

2.   Lost, ABC, produced by Grass Skirt Productions and ABC Studios

Photo: Lost

Photo: Lost TV series

J.J. Abrams, Executive Producer
Jack Bender, Executive Producer
Bryan Burk, Executive Producer
Carlton Cuse, Executive Producer
Adam Horowitz, Executive Producer
Edward Kitsis, Executive Producer
Damon Lindelof, Executive Producer
Jean Higgins, Co-Executive Producer
Elizabeth Sarnoff, Co-Executive Producer
Stephen Williams, Co-Executive Producer
Paul Zbyszewski, Supervising Producer
Pat Churchill, Producer
Ra’uf Glasgow, Producer
Brian K. Vaughan, Producer

The extremely popular Lost was first aired in 2004 is now in its sixth series that will end in May 2010.

Lost is the winner of the 2005 Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series.

3.   House, FOX, produced by Universal Media Studios in association with Heel and Toe Films, Shore Z Productions and Bad Hat Harry Productions

Photo: House TV series nominated for 2009 Emmy award for Outstanding Drama series
Photo: House TV series nominated for 2009 Emmy award for Outstanding Drama series

House is a medical mystery show that premiered in 2004 and stars Hugh Laurie, Lisa Edelstein, Omar Epps, Robert Sean Leonard, Jennifer Morrison, Jesse Spencer, Peter Jacobson, Kal Penn, and Olivia Wilde.

4.   Dexter, Showtime, produced by Showtime Presents in association with John Goldwyn Productions

Dexter premiered in 2006 and its fourth series will go on air on September 27, 2009.

The TV series stars Michael C. Hall, Julie Benz, Jennifer Carpenter, Desmond Harrington, David Zayas, and C.S. Lee.

5.  Breaking Bad,  AMC, produced by High Bridge, Gran Via Productions and Sony Pictures Television

High Bridge, Gran Via Productions, Sony Pictures Television
Vince Gilligan, Executive Producer
Mark Johnson, Executive Producer
Melissa Bernstein, Producer
Stewart A Lyons, Producer

Breaking Bad, created and produced by Vince Gilligan went on air in 2008.

The cast of Breaking Bad includes Bryan Cranston, Anna Gunn, Aaron Paul, Dean Norris, Betsy Brandt, RJ Mitte.

In 2008, Bryan Cranston won the Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series.
6.  Big Love, HBO, produced by Anima Sola Productions and Playtone in association with HBO Entertainment

Mark V. Olsen, Executive Producer;
Will Scheffer, Executive Producer;
Tom Hanks, Executive Producer;
Gary Goetzman, Executive Producer;
David Knoller, Executive Producer;
Bernadette Caulfield, Co-Executive Producer;
Steve Turner, Producer

Big Love, that went on air in 2006, is now in its fourth season. The TV drama stars Bill Paxton, Chloë Sevigny, Jeanne Tripplehorn, Ginnifer Goodwin, Harry Dean Stanton, Amanda Seyfried, Douglas Smith, Grace Zabriskie, and Matt Ross.

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>