India cricket team for T20 World Cup does not feature IPL’s in-form cricketers

Even as the ongoing edition of the IPL is sailing towards an exciting finish, the new squad announced on Friday for the Twenty20 World Cup in the West Indies later on, has thrown up a handful of surprises. For some of the cricketers now playing consistently in the IPL tourney, the team announcement has come as rude shock.

Proven players, such as pacers Ishant Sharma, S Sreesanth and RP Singh form part of the group that has failed to make it to the final team. The team announced by chairman of selectors Krishnamachari Srikkanth also left out players such as Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey and Amit Mishra, who are performing consistently in the IPL 3. Further still, Delhi batsman Kohli, who was in the ODI squad against South Africa last month, has also been excluded.

Kohli’s exclusion comes as a blow for the batsman as he had performed exceptionally well for India in the recent one-day series. To add to his best performances, he has been among good runs too as member of the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s quest for the IPL trophy.

Though Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth and Singh were in the provisional 30-member list, they found their names missing in the T20 squad.

Another instance is the case of all rounder Irfan Pathan. The player finds his name missing too. Irfan is currently performing well for Kings XI Punjab, but hasn’t made much of an impact when it comes to the team’s fortunes. Others notable names dropped are Sudeep Tyagi, Abhishek Nayar, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, Manish Pandey, Munaf Patel, Murali Vijay and Ravichandran Ashwin.

Meanwhile, those who have been lucky enough include Karnataka pacer Vinay Kumar, who currently is making waves with the ball at the Indian Premier League pitches. He happens to be the only new face in the squad to be led by MS Dhoni. Uttar Pradesh leg-spinner Piyush Chawla has been recalled. Ashish Nehra, who has not played a single match in the ongoing IPL because of a rib cage injury, has been included in the squad. This comes as a surprise, though. Another injured player, Gautam Gambhir, has also found a place in the squad.

It may be recalled that Sachin Tendulkar had made it clear that he had no intentions of playing the shortest format of the game for the country.

The T20 squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag (Vice Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Piyush Chawla, Dinesh Karthik, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar and Rohit Sharma.

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts