Hyderabad IPL team named Deccan Chargers; VVS Laxman captain, Adam Gilchrist is vice captain

The DLF IPL Twenty20 Hyderabad team has been christened Deccan Chargers. VVS Laxman is the captain, while Australia’s Adam Gilchrist is the vice captain of Deccan Chargers. Gilchrist retired from ODIs and tests during India’s recent tour of Australia.

The logo and anthem of Deccan Chargers wwre also revealed. The logo would be a charging bull. “The Bull signifies strength, power and aggression,” said J. Krishnan, president and CEO of Deccan Chargers.

During the unveiling function, VVS laxman, captain of Deccan Chargers, expressed confidence that his team is a balanced side.

The team also includes foreign players Andrew Symonds, Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa) Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) Scott Styris, Chaminda Vaas ad Nuwan Zoysa (Sri Lanka).
Indian team’s fielding coach Robin Singh will be the coach of Deccan Chargers.

Robin Singh would be assisted by Kawaljit Singh, Shishir Hattangadi and Vijay Mohan Raj.

The Deccan Chargers Hyderabad IPL team is owned by Deccan Chronicle newspaper.

The official Deccan Chargers website can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts